August 6, 2010

“I wrote this book for myself, but even that I can’t be sure of.  For a long time these were just loose pages that I reread and maybe tinkered with, convinced I had no time.  But time for what?  I couldn’t say exactly.  I wrote this book for the ghosts, who, because they’re outside of time, are the only ones with time.  After the last rereading (just now), I realize that time isn’t the only thing that matters, time isn’t the only source of terror.  Pleasure can be terrifying too, and so can courage…”

-Bolaño, in his introduction to Antwerp.

Leave a Reply

